FILING WATCH
Midwest / NW Edition · June 2026
Page 3 — Filing Effects: Guidelines, Coverage & Scoring
Beyond the Rate Number
This is the month's real story: carriers are exiting programs, scoring everything, and quietly cutting what your clients can buy.
The rate pages were thin. This one isn't. A multi-state towing exit, third-party scoring on trucks, drivers, cyber-hygiene and business credit, and a fresh wave of exclusions — PFAS, respirable dust, Gen-AI, brokerage operations. When the headline rate is small, the change to the contract is where the risk lives.
Industries in this page's filings
Trucking & Towing
exits & scoring
Manufacturers & Waste
PFAS / dust exclusions
Restaurants & Retail
BOP overhaul
Fitness & Professional Svcs
sports & cyber
Lead Filing · Market Exit — Multi-State Signal
ND + KS + IDCommercial Auto — TowingSeverity 5/5
Berkshire Hathaway GUARD exits the KBK towing program — non-renewing every policy
Approved June 19–29, effective October 28. AmGUARD (Berkshire Hathaway GUARD) is discontinuing the KBK Towing Program countrywide and mandatorily non-renewing every policy in it. The program administrator (KBK/Novacore) is moving the block to an undisclosed carrier, so towing operators get pushed into runoff — full runoff expected by October 2027. Companion filings cleared in North Dakota, Kansas (36 operators, $1.6M premium) and Idaho. When a program manager moves a whole block, the outgoing carrier usually saw something it didn't like — place replacements before the non-renewal date, not after.
Full exit
KBK towing program
New Scoring Models — Everything Gets a Score
ID + ORBusinessownersSev 5
Fortegra overhauls BOP with a credit score, exclusions and fees — +45% to +81%
Fortegra (Lyndon Southern) rebuilds its businessowners program: the loss-cost multiplier jumps 1.456→2.10 in Idaho (~45%) and 1.456→2.60 in Oregon (~81%). It adds a commercial-credit-score and years-in-business relativity, mandatory lead, asbestos, aluminum-wiring and pub weapons exclusions, a 6% technology fee and a 3.2% credit-card fee. Restaurants with heavy alcohol sales and contractors subbing over 30% get hit hardest.
— whole-program overhaul · ID ~+45% / OR ~+80.7% · effective Jun 2026
KSCyber LiabilitySev 4
Travelers scores your cyber hygiene — extortion +67%, social engineering +83%
Travelers reprices its Kansas cyber book and adds a 'Technical Security Factor' that scores each insured's security posture from third-party data (Bitsight/D&B). Cyber-extortion factors rise ~67% and social-engineering ~83%, with a 10% catastrophe load for aggregation risk. HOA managers, law firms (class factor up to 2.30) and healthcare are singled out; a stabilization rule caps renewals at +25%.
438 policyholders · $5.2M premium · effective Nov 1 · ~$11,801/policy
KSCommercial Auto — TruckersSev 3
Sentry scores Kansas truckers on driver turnover and DOT data — +18%
A genuine for-hire trucking filing: Sentry Select takes 18% on liability against a 42.5% indication and adds a 'Scorecard Factor' keyed to driver turnover, LexisNexis driver scores, DOT inspection data and claim frequency. Extra-heavy truck-tractors and high-turnover fleets pay the most. The number that matters is the gap — 18% taken against 42.5% needed.
141 motor carriers · $5.7M premium · effective Jul 1
Market Exits & Underwriting Changes
MOAgribusiness PackageSev 3
Triangle exits Missouri motor-carrier and crime cover — and adds Gen-AI exclusions
Triangle drops the Motor Carrier and Crime segments inside its Missouri TriPack agribusiness program and bolts on new mandatory exclusions for Generative AI, assault or battery, and human trafficking. Agribusinesses with trucking fleets lose motor-carrier cover, farms needing standalone crime/employee-dishonesty limits lose them, and public-facing or ag-tourism operations lose assault-and-battery protection. It's the same TriPack retrenchment that hit Kansas last cycle, now in Missouri.
— whole-program filing, count not reported · effective Jul 1
MO + NDSports & Wellness GLSev 5
Great American reprices the Vantapro sports book +52% — and cuts medical limits
Great American assumes the Vantapro sports-and-wellness book — fitness centers, sports instruction, youth programs — calls it 125% underpriced, and pushes a ~52% 'correction.' In the same move it cuts Medical Expense limits from $25,000 to $10,000, raises hired-and-non-owned auto 70%, and hits per-participant programs +67%. Coverage down, price up, one renewal. A North Dakota companion runs the same play (129.9% indicated).
— $1.45M MO book · MedPay cut 60% · effective Dec 1
NDCommercial PackageSev 3
Auto-Owners' exclusion wave reaches North Dakota — PFAS, abuse, $250 deductible
The North Dakota companion to Auto-Owners' Kansas re-rate (3,065 policyholders, $28.7M) carries the coverage cuts: a broad abuse-or-molestation exclusion, new data-privacy and unauthorized-access exclusions in the CGL, a mandatory $250 minimum deductible replacing $100, and a new Adjusted Value Provision on property. Contractors subbing over 10% of receipts and hotels over 10 years old face eligibility hurdles.
3,065 policyholders · $28.7M premium · effective Apr 15 · ~$9,371/policy
WAGeneral LiabilitySev 4
Liberty Mutual excludes PFAS and respirable dust in Washington
Liberty Mutual adds a total Endocrine-Disruptor exclusion to its Washington GL naming PFAS, BPA, phthalates and PFOAs, plus a broad Respirable Dust or Vapors exclusion for inhaled particulate and VOCs, and a state fungi/bacteria exclusion with a separate sub-limit. Plastics and chemical makers, woodworkers, dust-generating contractors and waste/remediation firms lose major coverage. A companion businessowners filing carries the same cuts.
— count not reported · manufacturers & contractors · effective Oct 1
NDCommercial Auto — TruckingSev 4
Core Specialty caps truck physical damage at $1M and excludes brokerage ops
Core Specialty (Lancer) restricts its North Dakota commercial-auto forms with no rate offset: a total exclusion for brokerage/freight-logistics operations under both auto and GL, a hard $1,000,000 per-accident cap on physical damage — a de facto retention for any fleet with concentrated yard values — and new cyber/electronic-data exclusions. Motor carriers with a brokerage arm and fleets carrying over $1M of trucks at one location are most exposed.
— count not reported · motor carriers & logistics · effective Jun 23
Also on the radar
The scoring wave is bigger than these cards. Acuity's CARFAX vehicle-history model (page 1) is the commercial-auto version of the same trend, and Next Insurance's Missouri credit rebuild (page 2) scores small-business owners the same way. On coverage, Liberty Mutual's PFAS and respirable-dust exclusions also cleared in a Washington BOP (General Ins Co of America), and Fortegra's BOP overhaul is genuinely two states — Idaho at ~45%, Oregon at ~81%. If a client is a used-fleet operator, a towing company, or a plastics or waste business, their renewal contract changed this month even where the rate looked calm.